Antiquities and Monuments Office Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKText Only繁體版簡體版
A A A
search site map contact us


Declared Monuments in Hong Kong


Declared Monuments Hong Kong Island Kowloon New Territories Outlying Islands
 

 

Declared Monuments in Hong Kong - New Territories

Fat Tat Tong

Fat Tat Tong, built in 1933, is not only a testimony of the history of a renowned Hakka family in the area, but also a typical example of residences of eclectic style popular with the returned overseas Chinese in the early 20th century in the territory.

Fat Tat Tong was built by Li To Wan Tso, a trustee formed by the four sons of Li To-wan, in Ha Wo Hang, Sha Tau Kok, New Territories. Li To-wan was a descendant of the Li clan of Wo Hang. Like many young adults of Sha Tau Kok going abroad to make a livelihood in the late 19th century, Li To-wan went to Vietnam to earn a living at a young age. He and his family returned to Ha Wo Hang with a modest fortune.

Li To-wan's eldest son, Li Kwan-lan, was an influential community leader of Sha Tau Kok and was appointed as one of the three "Tsz Yi" of Sha Tau Kok District in 1936 by the Governor to give advice on matters of local affairs and disputes. The appointment of Tsz Yi was regarded as an honorary offer of the Governor at the time.

Fat Tat Tong is a two-storey residence with a long pitched Hakka style tiled roof and fronted by a flat-roofed verandah. Traditional green brick and timber as well as modern reinforced concrete are used for the construction. Chinese-style sliding doors constructed of metal at all front entrances and rows of windows with metal hoods at the ground floor level are used to enhance the security of the building. Nowadays, Fat Tat Tong still serves as a residence for the descendants of Li To-wan.

Fat Tat Tong was declared a monument in 2013.

 

    Fat Tat Tong
Address   Ha Wo Hang, Sha Tau Kok, New Territories (Plan)
Transport   Please search the routes of different transportation modes for pre-trip planning.
 

 

The above information is for reference only, and is subject to change in accordance with the announcement of relevant organizations.

古物古蹟辦事處 香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通繁體純文字簡體版English
A A A
搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們


香港法定古蹟


香港法定古蹟 香港島 九龍 新界 離島  


 

香港法定古蹟 - 新界

發達堂

 


建於1933年的發達堂不但見證區內一個顯赫的客家家族的歷史,亦是折衷主義住宅建築的典型例子,這種建築風格廣為香港20世紀初期海外歸僑所採用。

發達堂由「李道環祖」(由李道環四個兒子組成的受託人)在新界沙頭角下禾坑興建;李道環是禾坑李氏宗族的後裔。正如沙頭角許多在19世紀末遠赴海外謀生的年輕人一樣,李道環年輕時前往越南謀生,後與家人衣錦還鄉,在下禾坑定居。

李道環的長子李鈞蘭是沙頭角區內舉足輕重的社區領袖,於1936年獲總督委任為沙頭角區三名「諮議」之一,負責就區內事務和糾紛提供意見。當時獲總督委任為「諮議」被視為莫大的榮譽。

發達堂樓高兩層,建有長長的客家式人字瓦頂,正面有平頂外廊。建築物以傳統的青磚和木材,以及現代的鋼筋混凝土建成。為加強保安,大宅所有正門均設金屬製的中式趟櫳門,樓下多排窗戶亦裝有金屬窗罩。時至今日,發達堂仍是李道環後人的居所。

發達堂於二〇一三年列為古蹟。

 

   

發達堂

地址   新界沙頭角下禾坑 (圖則)
圖 : 交通   請搜尋交通工具及路線,以便預先計劃行程。
 
 

以上資料只供參考,如有更改,以有關機構公布作準。
2004 © | 重要告示 | 私隱政策 | 無障礙瀏覽 無障礙網頁守則