Leisure and Cultural Services Department - Antiquities and Monuments Office Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKText Only繁體版簡體版
A A A
search site map contact us


Declared Monuments in Hong Kong


Declared Monuments Hong Kong Island Kowloon New Territories Outlying Islands
 

 

Declared Monuments in Hong Kong - Hong Kong Island

Victoria Prison Compound (Old Bailey Street, Central)
The old Victoria Prison (originally named ‘Victoria Gaol’) includes some of the earliest colonial buildings to have survived in Hong Kong since the mid-19th century.

A prime concern of the British after their possession of Hong Kong Island in 1841 was the establishment of law and order. They first built a stone gaol on an elevated site behind Hollywood Road, but this soon became overcrowded. A total reconstruction was launched in 1858 and completed in 1862. The east wing (now known as D Hall) of the main block and a watchtower (now known as Bauhinia House) survive from this period.

The gaol compound continued to be renovated and expanded in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, and after the Second World War it served as a remand prison and later as a part of the Immigration Department. The prison began to receive illegal immigrants and Vietnamese refugees in the early 1980s. It was decommissioned in 2006.

The old Victoria Prison Compound, the old Central Police Station Compound and the former Central Magistracy form a unique cluster of buildings, which allow the historical development of the institutions of law and order in Hong Kong since the mid-19th century to be traced.
Introduction to the Central Police Station
Compound

 

 
 
Victoria Prison Compound, Old Bailey Street, Central
address Old Bailey Street, Central (Plan)

Figure : Transport

 
MTR
Central Station
 

 

The above information is for reference only, and is subject to change in accordance with the announcement of relevant organizations.