Antiquities and Monuments Office Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKText Only繁體版簡體版
search site map contact us

Declared Monuments in Hong Kong

Declared Monuments Hong Kong Island Kowloon New Territories Outlying Islands


Declared Monuments in Hong Kong - New Territories

Entrance Tower & Enclosing Walls of Lo Wai (Lung Yeuk Tau, Fanling)
The five renowned walled villages in Lung Yeuk Tau, Fanling were built by the Tang clan, whose ancestors branched out from the main Tang settlement in Kam Tin in the 14th century. Lo Wai was the earliest walled village among the five. The Tangs subsequently established 11 villages in the area, known as the ‘Five Wais (walled villages) and Six Tsuens (villages)’.

Lo Wai is a village enclosed by brick walls on all four sides. The original entrance tower was located on the north side of the village but was later relocated to its present position facing east for fung shui reasons. The walled village still maintains its original layout after several renovations, with most of the village walls intact.

Repairs to a portion of the wall were undertaken in 1991 with funds provided by the North District Office. The full restoration of the entrance tower and the enclosing walls of Lo Wai was completed in 1998.



Entrance Tower and Enclosing Walls of Lo Wai

address Lo wai, Lung Yeuk Tau, Fanling (Plan)
Opening Hours

Monday to Sunday: 9am – 5pm

To avoid disturbance to local residents, the interior of Lo Wai is not open to the public.

Figure : Transport
Green Minibus (GMB)
54K Fanling Station - Lung Yeuk Tau (Circular)
56K Fanling Station (via Siu Hang Tsuen and San Wai) - Luk Keng



The above information is for reference only, and is subject to change in accordance with the announcement of relevant organizations.