Antiquities and Monuments Office | Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK | Graphical Mode | Traditional Chinese | Simplified Chinese | Search | Site Map | Contact Us [ Size 1 | Size 2 | Size 3 ]

Main | About Us | Contact Us | What's New | Archaeology | Historic Buildings | Declared Monuments | Heritage Impact Assessment | Hong Kong Heritage Discovery Centre | Ping Shan Tang Clan Gallery cum Heritage Trail Visitors Centre | Heritage Trails | Docent Services | Archaeological Display at Sung Wong Toi Station | Wun Yiu Exhibition | Exhibition Panels | Friends of Heritage | Young Friends of Heritage | FAQ | Links | Research Resources and Reports | Download Area



Online Exhibition > The Chek Lap Kok the Island and its history | Introduction to the Central Police Station Compound | Winning Entries of Hong Kong Heritage Awards (2004) Exhibition | Archaeological Discoveries in Sha Ha, Sai Kung

Historic Periods (221 B.C. - Early 19th Century)

Throughout the historical periods, people continued to live on Chek Lap Kok Island. Artefacts ascribed to pre-Tang Dynasty were sparse. Only a few pottery sherds of the Han Dynasty were retrieved, suggesting that the population was relatively small during the Han Dynasty. Cultural remains of the Tang and Song dynasties were unearthed in large quantities. At Sham Wan Tsuen more than twenty limekilns of the Tang Dynasty together with abundant ceramic vessels of the Tang and Song dynasties were discovered. Export wares of the Tang Dynasty Changsha Kiln were found, indicating the island's involvement with maritime trade during that period.

The discovery of thirteen furnace structures at Ha Law Wan represents the first archaeological remains of the Yuan Dynasty ever discovered in Hong Kong. The structures were probably related to iron smelting on Chek Lap Kok Island.

A temple was built completely of granite slabs at Miu Wan by local habitants in 1823 (Third year of Daoguang Reign, Qing Dynasty). It was dismantled in 1991 and has been re-erected at Wong Lung Hang, Tung Chung.

Shape of furnace structure, the whole site is protected within the conservation area of Chek Lap Kok Island.

Relocating of Tang Dynasty limekiln

Tang Dynasty limekiln structure in Sham Wan Tsuen

The whole temple was dismantled and re-erected at Wong Lung Hang, Tung Chung



Top

2004 © | Important notices | Privacy policy | Accessibility | Last revision date: 31 July, 2018

End of page

古物古蹟辦事處 | 香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 | 圖文版 | 簡體版 | English | 搜尋 | 網頁指南 | 聯絡我們 [ Size 1 | Size 2 | Size 3 ]

主頁 | 關於我們 | 聯絡我們 | 最新消息 | 考古 | 歷史建築 | 法定古蹟 | 文物影響評估| 香港文物探知館 | 屏山鄧族文物館暨文物徑訪中心 | 文物徑 | 導賞服務 | 宋皇臺站考古陳列 | 碗窰展覽 | 展覽圖板 | 文物之友 | 青少年文物之友 | 常見問題 | 連結 | 專題研究/報告| 下載區

網上展覽 >赤鱲角島歷史源流 | 中區警署建築群簡介 | 香港文物獎(二○○四年)得獎項目 | 西貢沙下考古發現

歷史時代 (約公元前二二一年 - 十九世紀初)

進入歷史時期,赤鱲角島一直有人類聚居。但唐代以前的遺物極為稀少,只在深灣村出土了幾件漢代陶片,說明在漢代,赤鱲角島上人煙稀少。相反,唐、宋兩代的文化遺存卻十分豐富,在深灣村發現了二十多座唐代灰窰遺跡,出土了不少唐、宋時代的完整瓷器,其中唐代長沙窰外銷瓷的發現,可能跟當時的海上貿易有關。

蝦螺灣遺址發現了十三座元代的鑄爐遺跡,是香港首次發現的元代遺跡,說明當時島上可能已有冶鐵工業。

清朝道光三年(一八二三年),居民在赤鱲角島的廟灣用花崗岩建造一座天后廟。此廟於一九九一年拆卸,全部石材運往東涌黃龍坑重建。

鑄爐遺跡的外貌,整個遺址保留在赤鱲角島的環境保護區內。

遷移唐代石灰窰的過程

深灣村唐代石灰窰結構

廟灣天后宮遷拆後運往東涌黃龍坑重新豎立

 

 

 

頁首

2004 © | 重要告示 | 私隱政策 | 無障礙瀏覽 | 修訂日期:2018年7月31日

本頁完結