Antiquities and Monuments Office | Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK | Graphical Mode | Traditional Chinese | Simplified Chinese | Search | Site Map | Contact Us [ Size 1 | Size 2 | Size 3 ]
Main | About Us | Contact Us | What's New | Archaeology | Historic Buildings | Declared Monuments | Heritage Impact Assessment | Hong Kong Heritage Discovery Centre | Ping Shan Tang Clan Gallery cum Heritage Trail Visitors Centre | Heritage Trails | Docent Services | Archaeological Display at Sung Wong Toi Station | Wun Yiu Exhibition | Exhibition Panels | Friends of Heritage | Young Friends of Heritage | FAQ | Links | Research Resources and Reports | Download Area
Declared Monuments > Declared Monuments | Hong Kong Island | Kowloon | New Territories | Outlying Islands
The Morrison Building (Hoh Fuk Tong Centre, Tuen Mun)
The Morrison Building in the Hoh Fuk Tong Centre in Tuen Mun was originally part of a villa built in 1936 by General Cai Tingkai (1892-1968) of the Nineteenth Route Army, a force renowned for its brave resistance against the Japanese invasion. From 1946 to 1949, the Morrison Building was used for tertiary education by the Dade Institute, founded on the directive of Zhou Enlai and Dong Biwu, and many eminent Chinese academics of the time lectured at the institute, nurturing a group of young intellectuals. The building stands witness to the unique role played by Hong Kong in the history of modern China and the establishment of the People’s Republic of China.
Designed in an Art Deco style, rendered with Shanghai plaster and featuring a green glazed Chinese tiled hipped roof decorated with dragon-shaped ornaments at four corners, the Morrison Building presents a harmonious blend of Chinese and Western architectural characteristics that are relatively rare in this combination.
Morrison Building was declared a monument in 2004.
Morrison Building, Hoh Fuk Tong Centre, Tuen Mun
Hoh Fuk Tong Centre, Castle Peak Road (San Hui Section), Tuen Mun (Plan)
Please search the routes of different transportation modes for pre-trip planning.
The building is not open to the public
End of page