Situated east of Tsung Kyam Church, Shek Lo was built in 1924 by Mr Tsui Yan-sau (1889 - 1981). Mr Tsui was born in Wuhua, Guangdong province, and migrated at an early age to Hong Kong with his father. He founded Wah Yan College on Hong Kong Island and in Kowloon in 1919 and 1924 respectively. Mr Tsui finally settled in Fanling in the 1920s and the building was the residence of the family until the late 1980s.
The two-storey building is a blend of Chinese and Western architectural styles comprising a main building and an annex block. Despite its colonial-style characteristics in the walls, balcony and stone columns, the building has a traditional Chinese pitched roof supported on wooden purlins and battens and is covered by Chinese clay tiles. Another notable feature includes the courtyard, as well as the layout of the rooms, which resembles that of traditional Chinese residences. Located in the middle of the roof parapet is a semi-circular pediment engraved with the characters "Shek Lo".
This is private property and is not open to the public.